The Gift of Giving

Last night I helped a woman throw her trash bags into the garbage truck.

Garbage trucks show up at a designated time on street corners five nights a week. Everyone goes out and is responsible for putting their trash bags in one truck, recyclables in different bags in another, and food waste in buckets. Itโ€™s busy and hectic and over in about 10 minutes.

Last night, as I was throwing my trash bag away, I saw a woman struggling with two big bags. She couldnโ€™t lift her arms very high and get them into the truck. I easily reached over and threw them both in the back of the truck, and her smile made me feel like I had given her a tremendous gift. And it had taken all of a minute and a half.

But it felt really good. So good that, as she walked away, I wanted to call out to her and ask if I could do anything else. I felt a mix of gratitude both that I could help and that I donโ€™t need that kind of help today.

That may sound silly, but I donโ€™t have the opportunity to help many people here. As a foreigner who doesnโ€™t speak the language, I am constantly having to ask for help myself. Add that to the natural generosity of the Taiwanese and living in another country has been a humbling experience.

I come from a privileged background, and I enjoy helping others. By privileged, I mean, that I have always had enough money to give a little to charity or occasionally pick up the bill for a friend at dinner.ย  I was often asked for help by co-workers and able to give assistance. Being the giver is a powerful and positive feeling, and Iโ€™ve never had to accept a lot of help from people.

Since living in Taiwan, however, I am often dependent upon others for even the simplest of tasks: on their kindness and patience in interpreting my butchery of their language to order coffee, in making a doctorโ€™s appointment, in ordering lunch for pick-up, and so on. Even in class, even though I am the lead teacher, I am dependent upon my co-teacher to help students who need more of an explanation than I can give in English.

The most humbling and difficult time was when I was in the hospital last year. I had co-workers who came to the hospital and helped translate the finer points necessary with nurses and doctors as well as explain the healthcare system to me. In addition, my co-workers took up a collection to pay for my hospital bill. I did not ask for this and many teachers who gave money were people Iโ€™d never talked to due to the language barrier. I can never repay their kindness โ€“ for the gesture meant far more to me than the money.

But the kindness, the assistance, is a daily thing. Getting lost and having someone stop and ask if they can help, not understanding how to get train tickets out a machine with Chinese instructions and having someone literally stand there and walk me through it, ordering at a restaurant where another customer will step in and help if the employee doesnโ€™t speak any English: itโ€™s everywhere. So being able to help one woman with her garbage last night was such a small thing but the grateful smile I received was the best smile Iโ€™ve seen a long time.

I was reading about the drought in Somalia and donations people have raised to send food and other necessities over to help people. There was a picture someone took of a crowd of people with desperately raised hands waiting to get anything offered. My heart broke. I thought about how difficult it would be to be in that position, the desperation, the feeling of always having to rely on the kindness and generosity of others, a feeling beyond the hunger and the need.

Being in a position to give to others is such a privilege. And there is nothing else that feels as good. I am so fortunate to be able to give in any capacity โ€“ and fortunate to have so many people willing to help me. These experiences have taught me to be a more humble, more generous, and more aware giver because I have learned that you never know when you may be in a position to need help yourself.

Leave a comment