National Siblings Day

Yesterday was apparently National Siblings Day, and I didn’t know. How do I know these things without Facebook telling me? And Facebook didn’t tell me until it was too late. But I do love my siblings despite the lack of pictures and posts missing from Facebook – and I’m sure they love me.

My brother is three years older than me and had to grow up with me pestering the hell out of him so he would pay attention to me as often as possible. The only times I didn’t bug him were when I was reading, writing, or singing along to my records. I especially loved “Music Machine.” Yes, I realize I am showing my age here, but I loved this record. I still remember every song.MM-OriginalCover

I have no idea how he survived his childhood with me, but I don’t think I would have survived my childhood without him. He was my tormentor, teacher, and protector all rolled into one. He let me share his bed when I had terrible nightmares despite the fact that I was a total bed-hog and often got punished after I’d pester him into retaliation.

1979691_10203257272343457_1257746881_n

He is now my best friend and most ardent supporter. I am so happy I have gotten to go through life with him.

My sister is 23 years younger than me. She’s my baby girl – and her mother generously shared her with me when she was born. She turned 21 years old this year, and I am still shell-shocked that she’s legally able to drink. Ha, ha!

Lauren Wine Glass

She has the biggest heart, and she stole mine the minute I saw her little, red face. I miss being able to rock her or have her mimic me reading in bed even though she could barely keep her eyes open or dramatically wipe my lipstick off her face when I would kiss her with it on.

But, enough nostalgia, having her around has been a gift to me. I have worked hard to make sure she’s proud of me and to set a good example. It’s been fun to watch her grow up and become the young woman she is now – and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for her.

How lucky am I to have two such awesome people who HAVE TO BE IN MY LIFE?!

Happy National Siblings Day!

 

Leave a Reply

