Valentine’s Day: A Hallmark Moment

ImageValentine’s Day this year was rough.  I’m 40 and single with no romantic possibilities in sight.  Valentine’s Day comes around every year as a stark reminder that I haven’t met a man whom I want and who wants me to be his one and only.  That’s okay, but it’s sometimes a lonely feeling.  I allowed myself to feel sad and hurt this year, and it wasn’t good.

I hate Valentine’s Day because it’s a day that makes anyone not “in love” feel incredibly left out and unwanted.  It puts pressure on people to publicly express their love, and they feel judged on how well they do.  But Valentine’s Day can be a day to celebrate love.  Period.

There was a beautiful, bright spot in the day when my father brought me flowers and a balloon to work to tell me he loved me.  I didn’t need the flowers and balloons because he shows me he loves me in so many other ways throughout the year, but I feel blessed to have such a wonderful man in my life who wanted me to know on Valentine’s Day that he was thinking of me.  (I think he really just felt bad because I’m single, but that’s another blog post for another day.  Ha, ha!)

But this is what Valentine’s Day should be.  It’s a reminder of how we should live every day – showing people how much we care.  It’s a reminder to say, “I love you” and to do something that shows that love.  I have love in my life.  I have a supportive family and a circle of fantastic friends whom I love and who remind me all the time that I am loved.

For this, I am truly one lucky lady.

Remembering that romantic love isn’t the end all and be all of what makes life satisfying and fulfilling is important.  Having romance is a huge bonus, but life is bright and joyous and full of wonder without that.  Loving yourself, loving the people who choose to be your friends, loving your family who is there through the good and the bad – that is what matters.

Embracing the love life brings you in all its forms opens you up to the positive things in the Universe.

A Hallmark card on Valentine’s Day is all good and well, but I value the love I am shown in a million ways on a day-to-day basis so much more:  my mom’s email asking about something happening in my life; my friend’s text just to say “hi”’; my dad stopping by my house to set a mouse trap in the attic (because I just can’t); my brother mowing my lawn when I’m feeling overwhelmed; and so many others.  This is love.  Flowers and cards one day out of the year is simply a reminder that love is present in our lives.

My journey has been paved with many people who have given me the love and encouragement I need to become the best me.  I look forward to seeing what else life has to offer – and I plan to keep the people who love me close and hope they know how much I appreciate everything they bring to my life.

I love you all – and thank you.

Happy Valentine’s Day

5 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day: A Hallmark Moment

  1. I totally agree Dina, but I do hope u meet someone someday who will fill that void in your life. Your such a beautiful and kind person that would make any man very lucky to have you. Happy Valentines day my friend…:)

  2. Good day I am so delighted I found your site,
    I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am
    here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please
    do keep up the great jo. http://procurandoalgo.net/author/cortezweins/

Leave a Reply

