Do Unto Others

Female Genital Mutilation.

I don’t know about you, but those three little words send chills down my spine.

I saw in the news yesterday that a doctor in the U.S. was arrested for performing FGM on little girls.

In the U.S.

On little girls.

I’ve never heard of this happening in the U.S. Maybe I had my head buried in the sand. I don’t know.

That article led me to one about the rise of FGM in America.

I try very hard not to be judgmental and to try to understand cultural differences, but this one is so barbaric that I can’t wrap my head around it. And older females are the ones performing the “surgery” on the young ones. I honestly can’t even describe what they do because it makes me so sick, but you can look it up here if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

This is another way of men keeping women in their place. They do this to ensure that women don’t enjoy sex so they won’t cheat on them. And women continue to do it for two reasons: it happened to them and they were told it’s what they are supposed to do.

But it all came about because of men’s wants and desires. Who told them they got rule the world? How did that happen?

I looked up the genesis of patriarchy, and there is no one defining moment. Oddly enough, one of the catalysts was Hebrews and one was classical Greece. But it happened as civilization evolved, and we weren’t required to work as a team for survival. Money and power corrupts.

With money and power comes the need to create hierarchies – and I have a problem with any society where one group puts themselves above all others. It’s not just men over women, but one nationality over another, rich over poor, and so on.

Slavery.

The Holocaust.

The Sex Trade.

What is wrong with human beings? Why don’t we value each other more?

I wonder if the first step is simply to value ourselves then apply that same value to everyone else.

I’m not a religious person, but there are good things to take from Scripture. I live by the words, “Do unto others as you would have others do unto you.”

If we made this a law, I wonder how many men would support female genital mutilation. They can’t even handle not being able to get an erection. How would they feel if it routinely got chopped off when they were children so women could make sure they didn’t cheat? Awful stuff.

Love yourself, love others. Period. The end.

One thought on “Do Unto Others

  1. Pingback: 14 of 40 – For your information – Dana Ellington, MAPW

Leave a Reply

