The Best You

What is the best version of you?

I was talking to my stepmother, Ginny, last night about the 30 day vegetarian challenge that I gave myself. I mentioned that I had finished it – and only ate meat once because I made a mistake when I ordered a cabbage dumpling and didn’t realize there was meat in it (it was delicious, just so you know!). She asked me how I felt.

I said I felt great. During the entire time, I physically felt good and didn’t feel guilty one time about what I was eating. However, I wasn’t sure how I was going to continue on – whether I would stay completely vegetarian because I did miss a few things and it was difficult at times finding something to eat – but I was looking at meat very differently.

The challenge was over last Sunday, and, since then, I have only eaten meat once. I had miso soup with salmon in it then ordered cucumber rolls as an entrée. I am having a hard time bringing myself to eat meat which is a definite sign. I think I will stay mostly vegetarian with the occasional meat dish if something comes up.

She asked me why I did it in the first place. I had to think about it because I couldn’t remember then said, I was asking myself what the best version of myself looked like – and that version was vegetarian. So I decided to challenge myself to try it and see what happened.

After the conversation with Ginny, I realized that I needed to sit down and figure out everything I considered to be the best version of myself. What does that person look like?

Some of the things I know off the top of my head are eating vegetarian, staying healthy, helping animals, being honest, looking to be kind and compassionate toward others, constantly working to improve my photography and my writing, seeing the world. Being single and childless, I sometimes think I live a self-absorbed life, but I want to make sure I do look outside myself and help others. I think that it is the most important thing we can accomplish in this world – but those are my priorities.

The best version of who you are will be different for everyone depending on what is important to you and important in your life.

I am planning to think about this more, write a plan, write a description of that person. Knowing who I want to be and how I want to live my life will allow me to then relax and focus on being that person. If I don’t know who I want to be, I will be susceptible to everyone else’s idea of who I should be and, at the end of my life, I want to be able to say that I fulfilled MY purpose for being here.

What are your priorities? Have you ever thought about it? Do you know what the best version of you would be?

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Best You

Leave a Reply

