Believe in Yourself

Believe in yourself.

Some days it’s easy. Some days I feel like Superwoman, like I can conquer the world. Those are the good days. The days when I feel radiant and happy and things feel easy.

Then there are the hours, days, weeks where I feel like I can’t do anything right. Days where even getting dressed, walking out the door, talking to strangers is hard.

On the days when it’s hard, I repeat these words in my mind over and over and over again.

I feel like Natalie Wood at the end of It’s a Wonderful Life repeating, “I believe. I believe. I believe.”

I say the words, but I don’t always feel them.

Today is one of the hard days.

Even putting these words on paper is hard.

But I know that soon I’ll have a day when I feel like Superwoman.

Until then, I’ll say the words to myself. And I’ll do the work. I’ll force myself to get up and get dressed and talk to strangers.

And I’ll believe – I’ll believe that soon I’ll have a day when I feel like Superwoman or, at least, a day when it won’t be so hard.

Because what I’ve learned is that I will have those days where it’s hard. Days where I don’t believe in myself. But that’s not the important part.

The important part is that no matter how I feel, I still do the work, put in the effort, and put myself out there.

And the more I do that, the more often I have the easy days and the more often those words I say to myself are true – I believe.

Do you believe in you?

Leave a Reply

