Morning Pages

Morning pages was introduced to me by my friend and fellow blogger Dana Holt but the original idea came from Julia Cameron. Dana loves it! Here’s how it works.

  1. Wake up (or, rather, open your eyes).
  2. Grab a pad of paper strategically placed by your bed.
  3. Pick up the pen also placed for convenience.
  4. Start writing.
  5. Write three pages of stream of consciousness before you do anything else (including waking up all the way).

I decided to try this and see what happens. It’s supposed to unlock your creativity, get all your negativity out on paper first thing in the morning, clear your mind and work out issues you may not even know existed. It’s not about writing well. It’s simply about clearing your head.

The first morning I didn’t wake up and really start writing until I got to the end of the third page. And then it was over. And I wanted to keep writing, but I had to get in the shower to go to work.

The next day, I woke up a little more quickly, but, again, don’t feel like I really got going until the third page. Regardless, it felt good. It’s always nice to write.

I skipped a few days. Okay, I skipped four days. Then finally got myself up and did it again this morning. This time it was the top of the third page when I felt like I got going, and it felt really good because the first two pages were actually painful to write.

I need to make this a habit because it does make me feel more alert and ready for the day. The problem is, I am soooo bad at getting up in the morning.

Speaking of getting up, the explanation I read of morning pages was that it would take 15 minutes. Not for me. Maybe I’m a slow writer, but it takes me about 25 minutes to write three pages.

My time did improve so maybe it’s like running, and I’ll get faster. It took me 30 minutes on the first day. I know, not much of an improvement but I’ll take it.

I’m curious to see what I think about it after I’ve done it longer.

I’ll let you know.

If I manage to get myself out of bed early enough and often enough to actually see benefits from it.

If you want to look this up for yourself and see what others think, simply google “morning pages.” It’s pretty popular, and people have very different things to say about it. Some love it and have seen benefits in their business and lives; others think it’s a waste of time. Here’s an article about it in Inc. online magazine.

Or you can simply try it yourself! If you do, let me know what you think.

 

3 thoughts on “Morning Pages

  1. My average writing time is 20 – 30 minutes. And after doing it daily since November 1st, I finally missed some days this past weekend as I was traveling. Feels so weird! lol. I have definitely noticed a difference in how I approach problems / find solutions since I started the Morning Pages. It’s definitely something I recommend. Glad you’re giving it a go, and thanks for the shout out :-).

    • Seriously, if I can get out of bed and do it, I think I’ll love it. I’m just struggling with that part. I love the writing part and feel like I started my day a little lighter after I finished my pages. Thanks for sharing information about it!

      • Funny you should mention getting out of bed. I haven’t gotten that part down pat, lol. I usually just sit up once the alarm goes off and get to writing. I’ve done a few sessions (usually on the weekends) at the dinning room table or on the couch in the den, but mostly, I am still in my jammies, having just woken up, and bam…the words are working their way out.

Leave a Reply

